LASU Sandwich Admission List for 2021 Modular Year

Lagos State University Nigeria (LASU)

Lagos State University Nigeria (LASU) sandwich program’s first batch admission list for the 2021 modular year is out online.

LASU Sandwich 1st batch admission list has been successfully uploaded online.

READ ALSO: LASU Academic Calendar for Freshmen, 2020/2021 Academic Session (1st Semester)

How to Check LASU Sandwich Admission List

The under-listed candidates have been offered Provisional Admission into the Sandwich Programmes of Lagos State University (LASU) for the 2020/2021 Academic Session.

Follow the link below in case your device can’t display the document above (Note: You will however need a device that is capable of opening PDF files to access the list).


All successfully screened candidates into the Lagos State University Sandwich Degree program (2021 Modular Year) whose names appear on the attached admissions list are expected to pay:

  • A non-refundable ACCEPTANCE FEE of N10,000 only within two weeks, failure to do so may lead to forfeiture of the admission.
  • Medical Screening Fee of N10,000 only. This should be done after the payment of the Acceptance fee; and the candidate should proceed, immediately after the payment, to the University Health Centre for the Medical screening.

READ ALSO: Lagos State University BSc/HND Conversion Admission List 2020/2021

All payments are to be made using the University official payment portal:

History Of LASU

The Lagos State University (LASU), located at Ojo, was established as a Public University in 1983 by the enabling law of Lagos State. Established with the vision of pursuing the advancement of learning and academic excellence, the university has been unrelenting in the pursuit of its mission of becoming a citadel of learning, a community with the trademark of excellence in teaching, research, and service to humanity, a catalyst as well as an agent for development.

READ ALSO: UNILAG JUPEB Admission Form 2021/2022 is Out

In April 1981, an ad-hoc committee headed by the Late Dr. Femi Agbalajobi, who was then a member of the Governing Council of the Lagos State College of Science and Technology, was set up to look into the modalities for converting LASCOTECH into a University. This committee advised that the college should remain. Later, in 1982, another 12-man technical committee headed by Dr. Abisogun Leigh recommended the establishment of a multi-campus and non-residential university. It was suggested that the proposed institution should be named LAGOS STATE UNIVERSITY (LASU).

The technical committee also recommended that the main campus should accommodate the Faculties of Humanities, Sciences, Education and Business Studies, and Law; all of which were to be established in the 1984/85 session. Other faculties which were considered capital intensive and were, therefore, to be established subsequently at other campuses of the University included Agriculture and Fisheries, Engineering, Technology, and Environmental Studies.

Consequent to the proposal and recommendation of the technical Committee, a firm decision was taken, early in 1983 to establish the Lagos State University. Subsequently, the LASU Implementation Committee under the chairmanship of the Governor, Alhaji Lateef Jakande was established. The committee’s inaugural meeting was held on Monday, 17th March 1983, and, in October 1983, the government turned the seed of the Lagos State University at the site of the present Works and Services Department. This was followed by the relocation of the University staff that hitherto had been operating from the Old Secretariat office at Ikeja to the University main campus at Ojo on Monday 19th December 1983. The young University had hardly settled down when, in December 1983, the military intervention terminated the tenure of the elected civilian administration and brought on board Group Captain Gbolahan Mudashiru as the Governor of Lagos State, who on February 20, 1984, formally inaugurated an 11-man Tertiary Education Review Committee (TERC). The committee submitted its report on the 20th of March 1984 with some far-reaching amendments to the original plan of the civilian government.

From the middle of 1984, the Lagos State Government continued to put in place machinery for the smooth the formal take-off of teaching and research activities in the new institution. The Faculties of Law and Humanities, Education and Science were established with the plan not to admit more than one thousand students. However, this was reduced to five hundred mainly because the institution was new and did not have the facilities to cope with a large number of students. At inception, in October 1984, the Lagos State University started with 55 academic staff, 37 Senior Administrative and technical staff, and a student enrolment that stood at 375 undergraduates and 200 pre-degree science (PDS) students.

The Administrative structure of the university has been built on a network of units and departments including the Registry, Academic Planning Unit, General Administration, Academic and Students Affairs, Senior Staff Establishment and Welfare, Junior Staff Establishment, and Training. The other organs of the university administration include Works and Services, Health Centre, Multi-Media center, Information Unit, and the Security Unit.

The Lagos State University currently operates three major campuses, namely: Ojo, Ikeja, and Epe. The Ojo campus is the Main Campus and the seat of the Central Administration. It houses the faculties of Arts, Education, Law, Management Sciences, Science and Social Sciences, School of Transport, School of Communication, Centre for Environment Studies and Sustainable Development (CESSED), Centre for General Nigerian Studies, Centre for Planning Studies, Information and Communication Technology Centre (ICTC), Online and Distance Learning and Research Institute (ODLRI) and Centre for Entrepreneurial Studies. The Postgraduate School is also on the Ojo Campus. The Ikeja Campus is home to the University College of Medicine (LASUCOM). The Epe campus accommodates the Faculty of Engineering, the School of Agriculture, and the Institute for Organic Agriculture and Green Economy.

The Lagos State University (LASU) currently has a total of 33,154 Students (inclusive of 794 students from the College of Medicine at Ikeja campus, 1,124 from Engineering Faculty and 216 from School of Agriculture both of which are from the Epe campus), distributed in various faculties for different programmes (Full-time Undergraduates = 20,986; Postgraduates = 4,880; Sandwich = 3,000; Diplomas = 1,160; Entrepreneurial Studies = 90; Joint University Preliminary Examination Board [JUPEB] = 647 and Pre-Degree Science [PDS] = 257)

The University is currently under the able leadership of Professor Olanrewaju Adigun FAGBOHUN, Ph.D., SAN as the Vice-Chancellor and his progressive Management team; Professor A.O.K NOAH (Deputy Vice-Chancellor Academic), Professor Oyedamola OKE (Deputy Vice-Chancellor Administration), Mr. Mohammed AMUNI, MNIM (Registrar), Mr. Sa’id Mohammed OLAYINKA, FCA (Bursar) and Mrs. Aderonke Shuqrat BELLO (Acting Librarian).

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *