2 States to Host New Federal Universities as Senate Passes Bills

New Federal University Bill. Nigeria is set to have two federal universities as the Senate passed two bills to that effect on Tuesday, September 14

The two universities will be located in Ekiti state in the southwest and Nasarawa state in the northcentral

Senator Yahaya Oloriegbe, the chairman of the Senate committee on health, explained why the universities should be established 

FCT, Abuja – The Senate on Tuesday, September 14, passed two bills seeking to establish two federal universities in Ekiti and Nasarawa states.

The Punch gathered that the bills were sponsored by Senators Opeyemi Bamidele and Tanko Al-Makura. 

The approval of both bills followed the presentation and consideration of two separate reports by the committee on health.

The chairman of the committee, Senator Yahaya Oloriegbe, said the bill to establish the Federal University of Lafia Teaching Hospital became necessary due to the precarious health conditions faced by residents. 

He said the bill to establish the new federal university Ekiti state seeks to promote and emphasize teaching, research and extension of knowledge in the field of Medicine and Environmental Sciences, Leadership also reported.

READ ALSO: Polytechnic That Have Released Cut-Off Marks

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *